Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Musicians

Vasily Petrenko Chief Conductor
Libor Pešek KBE Conductor Laureate
Sir Andrew Davis CBE Conductor Emeritus
Ian Tracey Chorusmaster Adopted by C van Solkema in memory of Roz Kelly

As members of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, our musicians are part of an ensemble that brings together talent from across the world. To find out more about the musicians, their first musical memories, what they might be doing if they weren't a musician.... Click on their instrument section.


First Violins
James Clark and Thelma Handy Joint Leaders Adopted by Jane and Stephen Howarth
Adi Brett Joint Associate Leader
Miranda Playfair Joint Associate Leader Adopted by anonymous patron, Jeremy Paterson-Fox
Andrew Harvey Joint Assistant Leader
Mihkel Kerem Joint Assistant Leader
Martin Richardson Adopted by Tim Jones
Concettina Del Vecchio Adopted by Mary Riddoch, Richard & Jenny Bryson
Alexander Marks Adopted by anonymous patron
John Hebbron † Adopted In Memory of Stephanie Redmond
Stephan Mayer Adopted by Carmel Stewart
Ruth McNamara Adopted by Alma Griffiths
Susanna Jordan Adopted by Peter R Brooks
Elizabeth Lamberton Adopted by Alan Turnock

Second Violins
Kate Richardson Section Leader Adopted by Mrs Jean Bingham, Mrs Elizabeth Hargreaves, anonymous patron
Róisín Walters
Sophie Coles Adopted by anonymous Patron
Kate Marsden Adopted by Dr E Vivori
Martin Anthony Burrage † Adopted in memory of Mrs Anne Wolff
James Hutton † Adopted by Robin and Ann Moor
Justin Evans † Adopted by Rob & Val Howell; Mrs Alison Cohen; Romain Rabot, Catherine Wall, Lesley Smith & In Memory of Sir Harold Kroto FRS.
Sally Anne Anderson Adopted by Mr and Mrs J P Monaghan
David Rimbault Adopted by Margaret Metcalf In Memory of John
Olga Smolen Adopted by Victor Greenberg
James Pattinson Adopted by Judith Rigby
Lukas Hank Adopted by Dorothy Taylor & Jill Conlan
Frances Evans Adopted by Michael D Handley & Edward J Davies

Catherine Marwood / Vicci Wardman Section Leaders
Gwendolyn Fisher / Alex Mitchell
Robert Shepley Adopted by Eric Wright FRICS
David Ruby Adopted by anonymous patron
Richard Wallace † Adopted by anonymous patron
Fiona Stunden Adopted by Jean Cross
Rebecca Walters Adopted by Mr & Mrs J Rodgers, Alan Turnock
Rachel Jones Adopted by Robert & Pamela Ferguson
Sarah Hill Adopted by anonymous patron
Ian Fair Adopted by anonymous patron; Valerie & Elfed Morgan

Jonathan Aasgaard Section Leader Adopted by Hugh and Juliet Morton, Brian and Colleen Higgins,
Hilary Browning Adopted by Mrs P Browning
Ian Bracken Adopted by Michael D Handley and Edward J Davies
Gethyn Jones † Adopted by anonymous patron
Stephen Mann † Adopted by CA Reilly
Ruth Owens Adopted by Mr and Mrs D Hugo, Julia Westwell
Alexander Holladay Adopted by Viv Hollinshead
Mark Lindley Adopted by Martin Rogers
Liubov Ulybysheva Adopted by John and Chris Sutcliffe, anonymous patron

Double Basses
Marcel Becker Section Leader Adopted by Paul and Christen Herbert
Ashley Frampton † Adopted by anonymous patron
Nigel Dufty Adopted by Teri Holmes
Anthony Williams Adopted by Captain and Mrs Taylor


Cormac Henry Section Leader Adopted by Gill Porter

Sameeta Gahir

Jonathan SmallSection Leader Adopted by Dr S and Mrs B Grant; Mrs Valerie Connolly
Ruth Davies Adopted by Mary Riddoch

Cor Anglais
Zoe Kitson Adopted by Mary Kennan

Benjamin Mellefont Section Leader Adopted by John Harsant
Thomas Verity Adopted by Jon & Sally Sheard, PJ Whitfield, and an anonymous patron.

Rebekah Abramski Adopted by Peter R Brooks

Gareth Twigg Adopted by Sue and Roger Greenwood


Timothy Jackson Section Leader Adopted by Robin Bloxsidge and Nick Riddle
Simon Griffiths Adopted by Oswestry Concert Goers
David Pigott† Adopted by Mr NG Mills
Timothy Nicholson Adopted by anonymous patron
Christopher Morley Adopted by Cornicopia

Rhys Owens Section Leader Adopted by Sheila Loyden
Paul Marsden Adopted by Roland Zollner & Colin Parr

Tenor Trombones
Simon Cowen Section Leader Adopted by Alan Platt
Simon Powell Adopted by Peter Urquhart

Bass Trombone
Simon Chappell Adopted by Peter and Gwen Goodhew

Robin Haggart Adopted by BA Proctor, and anonymous patron

Neil Hitt Section Leader Adopted by Liz Christie in memory of Stuart

Graham JohnsSection Leader Adopted by Mr WJ and Mrs CJ Bowley
Josephine Frieze Adopted by Peter and Susan Rathe
Scott Lumsdaine

Elizabeth McNulty
Section Leader Adopted by Michael D Handley & Edward J Davies

† denotes Honorary Life Member of the Society

In this section