Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!

In order to enter the venue for events from 1 September, you will need to demonstrate proof of COVID-19 status on arrival at the venue - find out more.


Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Strings


First Violins

 Thelma Handy (Leader)

 Adi Brett (Associate Leader)
Adopted by Dr WE & Mrs JM Kenyon

 Eva Thorarinsdottir (Associate Leader)

 Andrew Harvey (Joint Assistant Leader)
Adopted by Val & Brian Willis

 Mihkel Kerem (Joint Assistant Leader)
Adopted by Val & Brian Willis

 Martin Richardson
Adopted by Tim and Julia Jones

 Concettina Del Vecchio
Adopted by Richard & Jenny Bryson

 Alexander Marks †
Adopted by anonymous patron

 Stephan Mayer
Adopted by Carmel Stewart

 Ruth McNamara

 Susanna Jordan
Adopted by Peter R Brooks, Claire Deegan and Paul Holt

 Elizabeth Lamberton
Adopted by Mike and Joanne Jones

 Emily Mowbray
Adopted by Alan Turnock

 Qian Wu
Adopted by anonymous patron

 Rebecca Steventon

Second Violins

 Kate Richardson (Section Leader)
Adopted by Mrs Jean Bingham

 Kate Marsden
Adopted by Dr E Vivori

  Sophie Coles
Adopted by Val & Brian Willis

 Justin Evans †
Adopted by Rob and Val Howell; Mrs Alison Cohen; Ramain Rabot, Catherine Wall, Lesley Smith & In Memory of Sir Harold Kroto FRS.

 James Hutton †
Adopted by Robin and Ann Moor

 David Rimbault
Adopted by Margaret Metcalf In Memory of John

 Sally Anne Anderson
Adopted by Mr and Mrs J P Monaghan

 James Pattinson
Adopted by Judith Rigby

 Olga Smolen
Adopted by Victor Greenberg

 Frances Evans
Adopted by Michael D Handley and Edward J Davies

 Lukas Hank
Adopted by Mr & Mrs Paul and Ann Wynn


 Catherine Marwood (Section Leader)

 Gwendolyn Cawdron
Adopted by Jon and Sally Sheard

 Alex Mitchell
Adopted by Jon and Sally Sheard

 Robert Shepley 
Adopted by Eric Wright FRICS

 David Ruby 
Adopted by anonymous patron

 Richard Wallace 
Adopted by anonymous patron

 Fiona Stunden
Adopted by Jean Cross

 Rebecca Walters
Adopted by Mr & Mrs J Rodgers and Alan Turnock

 Rachel Jones 
Adopted by Robert and Pamela Ferguson

 Sarah Hill
Adopted by anonymous patron

 Ian Fair
Adopted by anonymous patron, Valerie and Elfed Morgan


  Jonathan Aasgaard
Adopted by Hugh & Juliet Morton and Brian Higgins in memory of Colleen

 Hilary Browning †
Adopted by Mrs P Browning

 Ian Bracken  †
Adopted by Michael D Handley and Edward J Davies

 Gethyn Jones †
Adopted by Michael and Yvonne Dempsey and an anonymous patron

 Ruth Owens  †
Adopted by Mr and Mrs D Hugo

 Alexander Holladay
Adopted by Viv Hollinshead

 Mark Lindley
Adopted by Martin Rogers

 Anna Stuart 

Double Basses

 Marcel Becker (Section Leader)
Adopted by Paul and Christen Herbert

 Jamie Kenny
Adopted by anonymous patron

 Ashley Frampton

 Nigel Dufty 
In memory of Teri

 Antony Williams
Adopted by Captain and Mrs Taylor

 † denotes Honorary Life Member of the Society

In this section