Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. We also use cookies to optimise your experience on our website. For further information please refer to our privacy policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!
Archived Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic orchestra

Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto

Bellini Overture, Norma (06')
Haydn Symphony No.101 ‘Clock’ (27')
- INTERVAL - (20')
Beethoven Piano Concerto No.5 ‘Emperor’ (38')

Nil Venditti conductor
Pavel Kolesnikov piano

When Beethoven premiered his Fifth Piano Concerto, one of Napoleon’s soldiers got a bit carried away. He leapt to his feet and shouted “It’s the Emperor!”. That’s the story, anyway, but one thing’s definitely true: when Pavel Kolesnikov plays this majestic concerto, you’re in for an adventure on a truly imperial scale.

According to one critic Kolesnikov “has the Midas touch”; together with the inspirational young Italian-Turkish conductor Nil Venditti this will be a stirring climax to a concert bristling with melody and wit.

learn more about the music

printable programme notes

8% administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders.
A £1 postage fee is applicable on all orders if opting for postal delivery.
More information about booking fees