Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Ensemble 10/10

Useful information

In this section

Ensemble 10/10

Athanasia Kontou Antigone: Pure in her crime (world premiere) 
Dobrinka Tabakova Fantasy Homage to Schubert
Britten Phaedra: dramatic cantata for mezzo-soprano and small orchestra

Geoffrey Paterson conductor/harpsichord 
Jennifer Johnston mezzo soprano

The heroine of Britten’s Phaedra seizes control of a fearful destiny and we stay in Ancient Greece for Athanasia Kontou’s new work as Antigone confronts her own emotions. Both are perfect showcases for Liverpool Philharmonic’s current Artist in Residence through until the end of 2020, superstar mezzo-soprano, Jennifer Johnston. Geoffrey Paterson makes his Ensemble 10/10 debut.

Athanasia Kontou is winner of the 2019 Liverpool Philharmonic Christopher Brooks Composition Prize.

 Please note the capacity is very limited (c. 240 seats total) and seating will be done on a socially distanced (2 metre) basis. To book single tickets please call the Box Office on 0151 709 3789.

Wondering what to expect when you return to Liverpool Philharmonic Hall?

We understand that there is a lot of information to take in around the concerts we’re presenting that you may have some questions. We’ve made a few changes to ensure the safety of audiences and our staff. Click here to view our Coronavirus related FAQs.

  • Thu 22 Oct 7:30pm £32/£28/£24

8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links

Geoffrey Paterson