Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. We also use cookies to optimise your experience on our website. For further information please refer to our privacy policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!
Archived Ode to Joy
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Ode to Joy

Roberto Sierra Symphony No.6 (world premiere - co-commission with National Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra and Boston Symphony Orchestra)  (25')
- INTERVAL (20') -
Beethoven Symphony No.9 ‘Choral’  (65’)

Domingo Hindoyan conductor
Anita Hartig soprano
Jennifer Johnston mezzo-soprano
Andrew Staples tenor 
Tareq Nazmi bass
Members from the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir

Let’s be honest, there was only one way that Domingo Hindoyan could launch his first season with the Orchestra, and that’s with the greatest symphony of all time: the one that begins in tragedy, and ends with the whole world singing the ‘Ode to Joy’. With the voices of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir and a newly-minted masterpiece by Puerto Rican composer Roberto Sierra, this really will be a new beginning.

Click here to find out more about Roberto Sierra's Symphony No. 6

learn more about the music

8% administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders.
A £1 postage fee is applicable on all orders if opting for postal delivery.
More information about booking fees