Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Archived Professional cello player in black and white suit holding his instrument

Useful information

In this section
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Petrenko’s Mahler V

Please note this concert has been cancelled. For refunds, please contact Box Office on boxoffice@liverpoolphil.com or call a member of our team on 0151 709 3789Victoria Borisova-Ollas Remember Me Giselle: cello concerto (UK premiere, co-commission with RSO Stockholm)
Mahler Symphony No.5

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Truls Mørk cello

A trumpet sounds in the darkness, and Vasily Petrenko’s year-long Mahler cycle plunges into the terror, the glory and the soaring romance of Mahler’s Fifth Symphony. There are horn calls and funeral marches, hymns of triumph and Viennese waltzes – and above all, the heart-rending Adagietto – Mahler’s unforgettable musical love-letter to his young wife. This is music that’s larger than life, so we’ve paired it with the atmospheric Remember Me Giselle by Victoria Borisova- Ollas – a composer from Vladivostok with a flair for drama.

Vasily Petrenko will provide an introduction from stage before this concert, to help you get even more from the experience.

Download Programme Notes

large print


8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links