Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!

In order to enter the venue for events, you will need to demonstrate proof of COVID-19 status on arrival at the venue - find out more.

Please note, we are implementing enhanced security measures at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall until further notice, including bag checks.

Archived Stillness and Light
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Stillness and Light

Caroline Shaw Entr’acte for strings  (12')
Mozart Piano Concerto No.24  (31')
- INTERVAL (20') -
William Grant Still Serenade (09')
Dvořák Symphony No.7  (38')

Joshua Weilerstein conductor
Inon Barnatan piano

New worlds for old: Dvořák saw a train entering a station and heard the melody that would grow into his Seventh Symphony. In America, William Grant Still dreamed of a gentler world in his beautiful, deeply romantic Serenade. American Caroline Shaw, meanwhile, takes a glimpse of the 18th century and spins it into something delightfully new. Another evening of big emotions and magical discoveries from guest conductor Joshua Weilerstein: add the incredible Inon Barnatan in Mozart’s stormiest piano concerto, and this should be one to remember.

learn more about the music

printable programme notes

8% administrative fee applies to most telephone/online orders (excluding Schools Concerts). Postage is included in this fee. More information about booking fees.